目录

Wwise SDK 2018.1.11
集成详情——3D 位置

在 Wwise 中,可通过将事件发送给游戏注册和定位的对象来播放声音。这些游戏对象称为 发声体 (emitter)。您可以利用 3D 模拟环境下发声体和 听者 (listener) 之间的相对位置,来进一步设置声音的声像摆位和其他属性,进而构建逼真的 3D 环境并为玩家打造身临其境的视听体验。

在 Wwise 中,设计师既可选择手动对输出到玩家所用扬声器的声音实施声像摆位,也可设为由游戏根据对象位置实时定位声音。另外,还可指派一组衰减曲线和设置,并根据距离或角度来修改声音属性(音量、滤波等)。

设置游戏对象的位置

针对需要使用此信息来定位声音的每个游戏对象调用 AK::SoundEngine::SetPosition() 函数。另外,还要针对“听者”游戏对象调用该函数。每当游戏对象的位置改变时,您都需要设置位置。

AkGameObjectID in_GameObjectID, // Game object 的标识
const AkSoundPosition & in_Position // 想要设置的位置
);

第一个参数是游戏对象的 ID。请参阅 集成详情——游戏对象 了解详情。

第二个参数是 AkTransform 结构,其中包含的向量代表游戏对象的位置和朝向。请参阅 X-Y-Z 坐标系统 了解 Wwise 声音引擎中 X、Y 和 Z 轴分别对应什么。

Note: 这意味着,即使您在调用 AK::SoundEngine::RenderAudio() 函数前多次调用 AK::SoundEngine::SetPosition(),也仍将只考虑最后一个值。

跟踪听者的位置

为了模拟发声体位置自动跟随听者位置的行为,必须在每一帧将游戏对象的位置明确设为与听者位置相同的数值。另外,也可发送作用于“听者”游戏对象的事件。

为单个游戏对象设置多个位置

您可以使用方法 AK::SoundEngine::SetMultiplePositions() 为单个游戏对象设置多个 3D 位置,而不可使用方法 AK::SoundEngine::SetPosition(),因为后者只可为单个游戏对象设置一个 3D 位置。

AkGameObjectID in_GameObjectID, ///< 游戏对象标识符。
const AkSoundPosition * in_pPositions, ///< 要应用的位置数组。
AkUInt16 in_NumPositions, ///< 所提供数组中指定的位置数。
MultiPositionType in_eMultiPositionType ///< \ref AK::SoundEngine::MultiPositionType
);
);

应仔细选择 MultiPositionType。您选择的方法将取决于要创建的场景和效果类型。

  • 如果您使用 MultiPositionType_MultiSources 方法,则会将各个声音的音量累加,以此来模拟多个对象同时发出同样的声音。此方法用处很多,在有多个对象发出同样声音的时候特别适用。然而,此方法在各个声音距离太近时可能会出问题。这个问题在于:因为多个声音完全同相播放,所以音量累加的时候容易出现削波失真。
  • 如果您使用 MultiPositionType_MultiDirections 方法,则各个扬声器中播放的音量是各个方向上的最大值。此方法可用于模拟游戏中的许多场景,包括墙洞、面声源和多个对象同时发出同样的声音。然而,如果游戏玩家希望当若干发声对象距离很近时声音变响,则应使用 MultiPositionType_MultiSources 方法添加声音。
  • 方法 MultiPositionType_SingleSource 不得结合 SetMultiplePositions() 一起使用,因为它只考虑一列位置中的第一个。

通过为单个游戏对象创建多个位置,您可以模拟很多音效,包括:

- 面声源

您可以来模拟面声源,方法是选用 MultiPositionType_MultiDirections,并设置合适的 Spread(散布)和基于距离的音量衰减值。在使用此方法时,需要位置增多的时候音量不会累加升高。通过使用这种方法重建面声源,您可以用一个声音获得从多个方向传来的、有逼真衰减的效果。

在下列中,黑点代表声音的初始位置,黑圆圈代表衰减的最小距离和散布,红圆圈代表最大衰减半径:

AreaSound.gif
图:有多个位置的面声源示例

蓝色区域代表游戏中的湖泊。湖泊发出的环境声通过使用有四个位置的声音来模拟。

当听者位于 A 位置时,湖泊的声音应来自所有方向。这可以通过设置适当高的散布值来实现,高散布值可使声音散布,使它们在所有扬声器中播放。

当听者位于 B 位置时,听者超出了最大衰减距离。这意味着在最大衰减距离处,听者要么会听不到湖泊的声音,要么只能听到微弱的声音。由于您用了多个位置来模拟大湖,因此声音总是会从合适的方向传过来。

当听者位于 C 位置时,将从张角很大的扬声器(~180 度)中听到湖声,但听者到湖泊有一定距离,因此声音会发生衰减。在这种情况下,听者仍位于衰减半径内,因此湖声不会发生最大衰减。

使用这项技术,您可以通过重叠多个声音位置来重建任何类型的对象形状。然而请记住,每添加一个新位置,就需要更多的 CPU 来计算音量结果。

- 同一区域中多个对象发出同样的声音。

举例来说,在游戏的某一关中,走廊墙壁上布置了一系列的火炬,将走廊照得透亮。这些火炬完全一样,会播放完全相同的声音。如果您为各个火炬分别设置一个播放事件(假设有 20 个火炬),那么这将极大地增加 CPU 和内存消耗。另外,如果使用流播放声音,则您可能会有多条重复的流,这会增加 I/O 访问次数。

在这种情况下,使用 SetMultiplePositions() 将极大地提高性能。它还可让您用一次操作来轻松控制所有声音,并减少需要注册的游戏对象的数量。

在游戏中创建此场景时,您可以使用以下两种方法之一: MultiPositionType_MultiSources() 还是 MultiPositionType_MultiDirections()

MultiPositionType_MultiSources 通常更准确,不过如果相互距离太近,则可能会出问题。记住,当只播放一个声部来模拟多个声音时,Wwise 会累加不同位置上的音量,从而可能导致音量超过 0 dB。MultiPositionType_MultiDirections() 占用 CPU 更少,只采用最大音量,然后让各个扬声器按此音量来播放。由于 MultiPositionType_MultiDirections() 不会增加音量,因此它可以保证不会有削波失真发生,因此更适用。

尽管一个声音有多个位置,但声音引擎仍只播放一个声部。这意味着当所有声音都超出值域时,只会处理一个虚声部。

- 模拟从豁口传来的声音(声音重定位)

当声音遇到声障或声笼时,那么可能听起来就像从别的方向而不是从声源的实际位置传来。在这些情况下,您可以将声音摆在多个位置,创建出您希望的效果。

举例来说,假设声部的直接传播路径被建筑物遮挡——见下图。那么使用两个替代点 A' 和 A'',而不是使用对象 A 的实际位置,听起来会更加逼真。当这样做的时候,使用 SetObjectObstructionAndOcclusion() ,这样会对所有位置应用同样的声笼和声障参数,或者也可以使用 SetMultipleObstructionAndOcclusion() ,为各个声音位置指定独有的声笼和声障值。

Buildings.gif
图:使用替代位置重新定位声音

此方法还非常适用于模拟已经被摧毁的环境,声音来自于许多随意的位置。在重新定位声音时,使用这个方法更好:MultiPositionType_MultiDirections()

X-Y-Z 坐标系统

Wwise 声音采用左手坐标系。默认值如下所示,不过最主要的是发声体相对于听者朝向系统的位置和朝向:

  • X:指向右侧的向量
  • Y:上方向量
  • Z:前方向量。
PositioningAxis.gif
Wwise 声音引擎中 X、Y 和 Z 轴的方向。

有关集成 3D 位置的示例,请参阅 3D 位置示例

参见

Table of Contents

Wwise SDK 2018.1.11
Integration Details - 3D Positions

Sounds are played in Wwise by posting events to objects that the game registers and optionally assigns a position. These game objects thus become emitters. The relative position of the simulated 3D environment emitters and listeners may be used to drive panning and other properties of sounds, which helps the auditive and visual experiences immerse the player in a credible 3D environment.

In Wwise, the designer may choose to pan a sound on the player's speaker setup manually (Speaker Panning), or based on game object position (3D Spatialization). Additionally, it may assign a set of attenuation curves and settings which modify the sound properties (volume, filtering, and so on) based on distance or angle.

Setting a Game Object's Position

Call the AK::SoundEngine::SetPosition() function for every game object whose sounds require this information. Also make sure to call it for the listener game object. You need to set the position every time the position of a game object changes.

AkGameObjectID in_GameObjectID, // Game object identifier
const AkSoundPosition & in_Position // Position to set
);

The first parameter is the ID of the game object. Refer to Integration Details - Game Objects for more information.

The second parameter is an AkTransform structure that contains vectors representing the position and orientation of the game object. Refer to X-Y-Z Coordinate System for information regarding how the X, Y, and Z axes are defined in the Wwise sound engine.

Note: If you call the AK::SoundEngine::SetPosition() function multiple times and then call the AK::SoundEngine::RenderAudio() function, only the last value will be considered.

Following the Listener Position

In order to mimic a behavior where the emitter position could automatically stick to the listener position, you need to explicitly set the game object's position to the same value as the listener position at every frame. You can also post events on the listener game object.

Setting Multiple Positions for a Single Game Object

Instead of using the method AK::SoundEngine::SetPosition(), which only allows a single 3D position for each game object, you can use the method: AK::SoundEngine::SetMultiplePositions(), which allows you to set multiple 3D positions for a single game object.

AkGameObjectID in_GameObjectID, ///< Game object identifier.
const AkSoundPosition * in_pPositions, ///< Array of positions to apply.
AkUInt16 in_NumPositions, ///< Number of positions specified in the provided array.
MultiPositionType in_eMultiPositionType ///< \ref AK::SoundEngine::MultiPositionType
);
);

The MultiPositionType should be carefully selected. The method you choose will depend on the situation and the type of effect your are trying to create.

  • If you use the MultiPositionType_MultiSources() method, the different sound volumes are added, which simulates multiple objects emitting the same sound at the same time. This method can be useful in many different situations, and works well when you have many objects that emit the exact same sound. This method may, however, cause certain issues when the sounds are too close to each other. The problem being that by adding volumes, multiple sounds will be playing exactly in phase, which increases the chance of clipping.
  • If you use the MultiPositionType_MultiDirections() method, the volume played in each speaker is the maximum in each direction. This method can be used to simulate a variety of different situations in game, including wall openings, area sounds, as well as multiple objects emitting the same sound at the same time. If, however, the game player expects the sound to grow louder when two or more objects emitting the sound are in close proximity, then the sounds should be added using the MultiPositionType_MultiSources method.
  • The MultiPositionType_SingleSource() method should not be used with SetMultiplePositions() because it only takes the first listed position into account.

By creating multiple positions for a single game object, you can simulate a number of different sound effects, including:

- Area sounds

You can simulate area sounds by using the MultiPositionType_MultiDirections() option combined with appropriate values for Spread and distance-based Volume Attenuation. When using this method, you need to make sure that the number of positions does not increase the volume additively. By recreating area sounds using this method, you can have a single sound coming from multiple directions with realistic attenuation.

In the following example, the black dots represent the initial position of sounds, the black circles represent the minimum distance for attenuation and spreading, and the pink circles represent the maximum radius:

AreaSound.gif
Figure: Sample of Area Sound with Multiple Positions

The blue region represents a lake in your game. The ambience sounds emanating from the lake are simulated using a sound with four positions.

When the listener is at position A, the sound of the lake should come from all directions. This can be achieved by setting an appropriately high spread value, which diffuses the sounds so that they play back in all speakers.

When the Listener is at position B, they are beyond the maximum attenuation distance. This means that they will either hear no lake sounds or they will hear only a faint sound at its maximum attenuation. Because you are using multiple positions to simulate a large lake, the sound will always comes from the appropriate direction.

When the listener is at position C, they will hear the lake from a wide angle of speakers (~180 degrees), but the sounds will be attenuated because the listener is a certain distance away from the lake. In this situation, the listener is still within the attenuation radius, so the lake sounds will not be attenuated to their maximum levels.

By using this technique, you can recreate any kind of object shape by overlapping multiple sound positions. Keep in mind, however, that with each new position added, more CPU is required to calculate the resulting volumes.

- Multiple objects emitting the same sound in the same area.

Let's say, for example, that in one of your levels, the corridors are all lit by a series of torches on the walls. These torches are all the same and will play the exact same sound. If you post a play event for each of them separately (supposing there are 20 of them), it would consume significantly more CPU and memory. Also, if the sound is being streamed, you may potentially have multiple duplicated streams, which can increase I/O access.

In this situation, using SetMultiplePositions() would greatly improve performance. It also allows you to easily control all sounds in one operation, and reduces the number of game objects that need to be registered.

When creating this scenario in game, you can use either of the two methods: MultiPositionType_MultiSources() or MultiPositionType_MultiDirections().

MultiPositionType_MultiSources() will usually be more accurate, but may be problematic if positions are too close to one another. Remember that when only one voice is played to simulate multiple sounds, Wwise adds the volumes of the different positions, which may result in the volume going over 0 dB. MultiPositionType_MultiDirections() uses a bit less CPU, and simply takes the maximum volume and plays it through each speaker. Since MultiPositionType_MultiDirections() does not add the volumes, it guarantees that there will be no clipping and, therefore, may be more suitable.

Despite there being multiple positions for a sound, there is still only one voice played by the sound engine. This means that when all sounds are out of range, only one virtual voice will be processed.

- Simulating sounds coming from openings (Sound Relocalization)

When sounds are partially obstructed and/or occluded, they may appear to come from different directions than where they are actually located. In these cases, you can position the sound in multiple locations to create the effect that you want.

For example, let's say that the direct path of a sound is blocked by a building - see the following illustration. Instead of using the real position of object A, it would sound more realistic to use the two alternate positions: A' and A''. When doing so, use SetObjectObstructionAndOcclusion() and the same occlusion and obstruction parameters will apply to all positions, or use SetMultipleObstructionAndOcclusion() and specify a unique occlusion and obstruction value for each sound position.

Buildings.gif
Figure: Relocating a sound using two alternate positions

This approach also works well when simulating environments that have been destroyed, and sounds are coming from a number of arbitrary positions. When re-localizing sounds, it is better to use the MultiPositionType_MultiDirections() method.

X-Y-Z Coordinate System

The Wwise sound expects a left-handed coordinate system. The default values are the following, although the only thing that matters is the position and orientation of emitters relative to the listener orientation frame:

  • X: Vector that points to the right
  • Y: Vector that points up
  • Z: Vector that points forward.
PositioningAxis.gif
Direction of the X, Y and Z Axes in the Wwise Sound Engine.

For an example of integrating 3D positions, refer to 3D Position Example.

See also