Table of Contents

Managing Project Files Using a Workgroup Plug-in

Wwise's open architecture makes it easy for you to integrate your source control software by creating a Workgroup plug-in. The Workgroup plug-in creates a link between Wwise and your source control software so that you can manage your files and perform source control functions, such as check in and check out, directly in Wwise.

Because each source control system works differently, the specific functions available and the workflow you adopt will depend on the system with which you are working.

To help you get started, Wwise comes with two fully functional sample Workgroup plug-ins for the software configuration management systems Perforce® and Subversion. Perforce and Subversion both use the copy-modify-merge model as opposed to the lock-modify-unlock solution. In this model, each member of the Workgroup reads the repository or depot and creates a client workspace which is a directory containing a personal working copy of the files and/or project on their workstation. This allows each member of your team to work in parallel, modifying their own private copies. When ready, each member can merge their private copies together into a new, final version. If there are conflicts, the version control system will assist you with the merging, but ultimately you are responsible for resolving any issues correctly.

If you are using another source control management system, you can create your own Workgroup plug-in for Wwise. For information on creating and integrating your own Workgroup plug-in, refer to the section How to Create a Source Control Plug-in DLL in the SDK documentation.

When using a source control plug-in, a number of different source control functions are available directly in Wwise. For example, when using the Perforce plug-in, you can perform the following source control operations from within Wwise:

  • Get latest version to update your working copy by retrieving the latest version of the file from the depot.

  • Submit changes to send pending files to the Perforce server for processing.

  • Check out to make the working copy of the depot file in your client workspace.

  • Lock to lock a file so that other clients can't submit their working copies of the file to the server.

  • Unlock to unlock a file so that other clients can submit their working copies of the file to the server.

  • Mark for add to add a file to the depot. When a file is marked for add, it is added to a changelist and then must be submitted to the depot.

  • Mark for delete to delete a file from the depot. When a file is marked for delete, it is placed in a changelist and then must be submitted to the depot where it is deleted.

  • Move to move a source file between folders within the Originals directory.

  • Rename to rename a file in the depot.

  • Revert changes to discard the changes you have made to a file in your client workspace.

  • Resolve to reconcile the differences between two revisions of a file.

  • Diff to compare the file in your client workspace with the file in the depot.

  • File History to display a file's revision history.

[Note] Note

A list of similar source control functions exists for the Subversion plug-in.

Not only will you have access to these source control commands in Wwise, but special icon overlays are displayed in the Project Explorer to help you quickly identify the status of your Work Unit files. The following table displays the icon overlays used, for example, in the Perforce Workgroup plug-in.

Overlay Icon

Name

Description

Normal (not checked out)

File is up-to-date and not checked out by anybody.

Marked for add

Moved

Files have been marked for add to the Perforce depot or has been moved with the move/add status.

Checked out (Open for Edit)

Files have been checked out from the Perforce depot.

Checked out by another user

Files have been checked out by another user in your Workgroup.

Concurrently checked out

Files have been checked out by you and by another user in your Workgroup.

Outdated (not latest revision of file)

A more recent revision exists on the server. You can get the latest version of the file.


[Note] Note

The icons “Checked out by another user,” “Concurrently Checked out” and “Outdated” are only available with the Perforce Workgroup plug-in.