目录

Wwise Expander 插件

(请参阅下文的 Wwise Expander 属性 。)

Wwise Expander(扩展器)插件通过减弱输入信号低于预定义阈值的任意部分来扩大信号的动态范围。 当信号很弱并低于阈值时,扩展器开始降低信号的增益。当信号等于或高于阈值时,不对信号应用增益衰减。

比率因子决定当输入低于阈值时的动态扩展范围。 例如,比率 4 表示输入信号每低于阈值 4 dB,输出信号中仅会保留 1 dB。

要在增益衰减区和无增益衰减区之间提供平滑的过渡,您可以指定 attack (起音)属性和 release(释音)属性的时间。 Attack 时间是指当输入低于阈值时增益衰减所花费的时间。 Release 时间是指当不再做增益衰减时,信号恢复至阈值电平所花费的时间。

Wwise Expander 插件包含一系列属性,其中很多属性可实时编辑,并可使用 RTPC 映射至特定游戏参数。

您可以使用 Expander 插件减少不需要的背景噪音。 例如,您可能需要减少低音背景噪声(如嘶嘶声),以使其它声音听得更清楚。 在某些情况下,您可以通过设置高扩展率(超过 10:1)将声音从输出信号中完全清除。 这一高比率被称为噪声门,因为对于增益已降到该范围的声音,此门将对这些声音关闭。

[注意] 注意

具有直流偏置的声音可能会改变 Expander 效果器的结果。 请确保先从音频文件中移除直流偏置后再在 Wwise 中应用 Expander Effect。 您可以在导入音频文件前移除直流偏置,也可以在 Wwise 中对音频文件做转码时移除。


[备注] 有关 Wwise 动态处理插件的一般说明
  • Wwise Compressor、Wwise Expander 或 Wwise Peak Limiter 插件中的 Ratio(比例)控件上不做插值(RTPC 参数)。在播放期间更改此参数可能导致非常干净的信号中出现信号不连续。

  • 具有直流偏置的声音可能改变压缩/扩展结果,因为旁链检测算法将发生大幅度偏移。在 Wwise 中使用声音之前应删除直流偏置。

  • Compressor(压缩器)、Expander(扩展器)和 Peak limiter(峰值限幅器)是非线性音频处理。也就是说,处理顺序至关重要。例如,您在效果器之前或之后应用增益,结果将会有所不同。

  • 对于第一个音频缓冲区,处理算法处于称为"非稳定"(non-steady)状态。因为旁链估计信号功率时不清楚以前的情况,所以其在估计过程中可能有一小段时间内的信号功率估计是错误的(但前提是在声音开始播放时已使用了 Compressor)。解决此问题的方法(如果确实存在此问题)是以比率 1 启动 Compressor,一会儿之后再将其调为所需值。

  • 如果 Compressor 应用某增益衰减并且突然被旁通了,则将会听到信号断续。一种可能的解决方案是在旁通效果器前将压缩比渐变为 1。

Wwise Expander 属性

界面元素

描述

Inclusion

决定是否包含该对象。如勾选,则包含该元素。如未勾选,则不会包含该元素。 在默认情况下,此设置应用于所有平台。使用复选框左侧的 Link indicator 来查看或设置平台专有属性。

未勾选此选项时,Property Editor(属性编辑器)中各属性和行为选项都将不可用。

Default value: true

Name(名称)

Effect 实例的名称。

效果器实例是一组效果器属性设置。它们可以是两种类型之一:自定义或共享集。自定义实例只能由一个对象使用,然而共享集可在多个对象之间共享。

Effect(效果器)

效果器。效果器的类型。

Shared by (Used by)

共享对象。当前采用所选共享集的对象列表。

在编辑自定义 Effect 实例时,该字段会显示“Used By”。

打开搜索框,在其中输入标准字母和数字会筛选掉视图中不相匹配的元素。阅读 使用表格 了解详细信息。

点击搜索图标左侧的 Close(关闭)图标,以关闭搜索字段并删除筛选器。

[备注] 备注

搜索不包括List View(列表视图), Query Editor, MIDI Keymap Editor 视图, and Reference View 视图中折叠起来的节点。

将 Effect 属性设置恢复为默认值。

只有在编辑自定义 Effect 实例时,此选项才可用。

Notes(备注)

备注。Effect 的其它信息。

Threshold

阈值。指定一个点,低于该点时 Expander 开始处理信号,并应用增益衰减。

单位:dB

Default value: -40
Range: -96.3 to 0

Ratio

比率。表示已应用的扩展量。 比率为 2:1 表示低于阈值的输出电平部分将进一步减少,减幅是输入值的两倍。 当比率等于和高于 10:1 将创建一个噪声门。

Default value: 3
Range: 1 to 50

Attack Time

启动时间。指当输入低于阈值时增益衰减所花费的时间。

单位:s

Default value: 0.1
Range: 0 to 2

Release Time

释放时间。指不再应用增益衰减时信号恢复至阈值电平所花费的时间。

单位:s

Default value: 0.01
Range: 0 to 2

Output Gain

输出增益。动态扩展后作用于输出电平的增益。

Default value: 0
Range: -24 to 24
Units: dB

Process LFE

决定是否在 LFE 声道中处理效果。选中后,将在 LFE 声道中进行效果处理。如果未勾选该选项,则 LFE 声道不会受影响。

Default value: true

Channel Link

声道链路。将相同的增益衰减作用于所有声道。 这通过对所有声道的信号提取均方根功率来实现。 设置阈值的方法是针对已链接的声道缩放功率(单位:dB)。

如果未勾选该选项,声道之间将不会共享信息,各个声道将独立应用效果器。

Default value: true

Table of Contents

Wwise Expander

(See the Wwise Expander Properties below.)

The Wwise Expander increases the dynamic range of a signal by weakening any part of the input signal that is below a pre-defined threshold value. When the signal is soft and below the threshold, the Expander begins to reduce the signal's gain. When the signal is at or louder than the threshold value, no gain reduction is applied to the signal.

A ratio factor determines the extent of the dynamic expansion when the input is below the threshold. For example, a ratio of 4 means that for every 4 dB the input signal is below the threshold, only 1 dB will be observed in the output signal.

To provide smooth transitions between the areas of gain reduction and no gain reduction, you can specify times for the attack and release properties. The attack time is the time it takes for the gain to be reduced when the input is below threshold. The release time is the time it takes for the signal to return to the threshold level where gain reduction is no longer applied.

The Wwise Expander plug-in contains a series of properties, many of which can be edited in real-time and can be mapped to specific Game Parameters using RTPCs.

You can use the Expander plug-in to reduce unwanted background noise. For example, you may need to reduce a low sounding background noise such as a hiss, so that other sounds could be heard more clearly. In some cases you can remove sounds from the output signal almost completely by setting a high expander ratio (over 10:1). This high ratio is known as a noise gate as it closes the gate for sounds whose gain has been reduced to this extent.

[Caution] Caution

Sounds with a DC offset may alter the results of the Expander Effect. Make sure to remove the DC offset before applying the Expander Effect in Wwise. You can remove the DC offset before importing the audio file, or in Wwise when you convert the audio file.


[Note] General remarks on Wwise dynamic processing plug-ins
  • There is no interpolation of ratio control (RTPC parameter) for Wwise Compressor, Wwise Expander, or Wwise Peak Limiter. Changing this parameter during playback may lead to signal discontinuities on very clean signals.

  • Sounds with DC offset may alter results of compression/expansion because the sidechain detection algorithm will be offset considerably. DC offset should be removed prior to use in Wwise.

  • The Compressor, Expander, and Peak limiter are non-linear audio processes. This means that order of processing is important. For example, results will be different if you apply gain before or after the Effect.

  • For the first audio buffers, the processing algorithms are said to be in non-steady state. Because the estimated signal power operated by the side chain has no knowledge of the past, its estimate of signal power may be erroneous for a short period of time (but only if the Compressor is already engaged at the start of the sound). A solution to this (if it's a problem at all) is to start the Compressor with a ratio of 1 and shortly after bring it to the desired value.

  • If the Compressor applies some gain reduction and is suddenly bypassed, a signal discontinuity will be heard. A potential solution is to gradually bring the ratio to 1 prior to bypassing the Effect.

Wwise Expander Properties

Interface Element

Description

Inclusion

Determines whether the element is included or excluded. When selected, the element is included. When unselected, the element is not included. By default, this applies across all platforms. Use the Link indicator (to the left of the check box) to determine or to set platform-specific customizations.

When this option is unselected, the property and behavior options in the Property Editor become unavailable.

Default value: false

Name

The name of the Effect instance.

Effect instances are a group of effect property settings. They can be one of two types: custom instances or ShareSets. Custom instances can be used by only one object, whereas ShareSets can be shared across several objects.

Effect

The type of effect.

Shared by (Used by)

A list of objects that currently subscribe to the selected ShareSet.

This field is called “Used by” when editing a custom instance of the Effect.

Opens a search field where standard alphanumeric entries filter out unmatching elements from the view. Learn more in Using Tables.

Click the Close icon to the left of the search icon to close the search field and remove the filter.

[Note] Note

The searches do not include elements in collapsed nodes of the List View, Query Editor, MIDI Keymap Editor, and Reference View.

Returns the Effect property settings to their default values.

This option is only available when editing a custom instance of the Effect.

Notes

Additional information about the Effect.

Effect Settings

Threshold

Specifies the point below which the expander will begin to process the signal and apply gain reduction.

Default value: -40
Range: -96.3 to 0
Units: dB

Ratio

The representation of the amount of expansion that has been applied. A ratio of 2:1 indicates that the portion of the output level below the threshold will be further reduced by two times the value of the input. At a ratio of 10:1 and higher, you can create a noise gate.

Default value: 3
Range: 1 to 50

Attack Time

The time it takes for the gain to be reduced when the input is below threshold.

Default value: 0.1
Range: 0 to 2
Units: s

Release Time

The time it takes for the signal to return to the threshold level where gain reduction is no longer applied.

Default value: 0.01
Range: 0 to 2
Units: s

Output Gain

The gain applied to the output level after the dynamic expansion.

Default value: 0
Range: -24 to 24
Units: dB

Process LFE

Determines whether the Effect is processed in the LFE channel or not. When selected, the Effect is processed in the LFE channel. When unselected, the LFE channel will be unaffected.

Default value: true

Channel Link

Applies the same gain reduction to all channels. This is implemented by taking the RMS power in the signal of all channels. The threshold is set by scaling the power in dB for the number of channels that are linked.

If this option is not selected, no information is shared between channels, and the Effect is applied on a per-channel basis.

Default value: true